King Richard and Tic, Tic… Boom! Best ACE Eddie Awards – Movie News |


King Richard and Tic, Tic… Boom! received top honors of the night at the ACE Eddie Awards this weekend.

Pamela Martin received the award for Best Edited Feature (Drama) for her work on the biographical drama, which stars Will Smith as Venus and Serena Williams’ father and trainer, Richard Williams, at the ceremony, which awards outstanding film editors, Saturday.

Myron Kerstein and Andrew Weisblum won Best Edited Feature (Comedy) for Lin-Manuel Miranda’s directorial debut, the musical Tick, Tick…Boom!, which stars Andrew Garfield as the late composer Jonathan Larson.

All three editors are nominated for the Best Editing Oscar alongside Hank Corwin from Don’t Look Up, Joe Walker from Dune and Peter Sciberras from The Power of the Dog. These last three were also nominated for the ACE Eddie Awards but went home empty-handed.

Other films honored at the ceremony included Disney animation Encanto, Oscar-favorite documentary Summer of Soul (…or, When the Revolution Could Not Be Televised) and Peter Jackson’s Beatles documentary Get Back.

In the television categories, the editors of Succession, Hacks and Mare of Easttown were all honoured, while comedian Bo Burnham received Best Variety Show/Sketch or Special for Bo Burnham: Inside, which he wrote, directed, filmed, edited. and played on his own during the pandemic.

The main list of winners is as follows:

Best Edited Feature (Drama) – King Richard, Pamela Martin, ACE

Best Edited Feature (Comedy) – Tick, Tick… Boom!, Myron Kerstein, ACE, Andrew Weisblum, ACE

Best Edited Animated Feature – Encanto, Jeremy Milton, ACE

Best Editing Documentary (Feature) – Summer of Soul… Or, When the Revolution Could Not Be Televised, Joshua L. Pearson

Best Edited Documentary (Non-Theatrical) – The Beatles: Get Back (Episode 3), Jabez Olssen

Best Edited Multi-Camera Comedy Series – Kevin Can F**k Himself (Live Free or Die), Daniel Schalk, ACE and Joseph Fulton

Best Edited Single-Camera Comedy Series – Hacks (1.69 million), Susan Vaill, ACE

Best Edited Drama Series – Succession (All the Bells Say), Ken Eluto, ACE

Best Edited Film (non-cinema) – Oslo, Jay Rabinowitz, ACE

Best Edited Limited Series – Mare of Easttown (Illusions), Amy E. Duddleston, ACE

Best Edited Unscripted Series – Formula 1: Drive to Survive (Man on Fire), Dan Ablett, Kevin Austin, Otto Burnham, Shane McCormack, Graham Taylor

Best Variety/Sketch Show or Special – Bo Burnham: Inside, Bo Burnham

Best Edited Animation (Non-Theatrical) – Bob’s Burgers (Vampire Disco Death Dance), Jeremy Reuben.


Comments are closed.