MPSE Announces Mark Lanza’s Re-Election


Motion Sound Picture sound editors re-elect Mark Lanza

The Motion Sound Picture Sound Editors (MPSE) have announced the re-election of Mark Lanza for a two-year term as president, with David Barber elected for a two-year term as secretary – which he served as interim l ‘last year.

Lanza and Barber will join permanent directors Steve Urban, Jeremy Gordon and Christopher Reeves.

“I am proud to be a member of the MPSE and grateful to my colleagues for entrusting me with a new mandate as president,” Lanza said.

Lanza’s previous sound works include Best Sound Oscar winner ‘Glory’, ‘Born on the Fourth of July’ and ‘JFK’, both of which received Academy Award nominations for sound.

Barber’s previous work as a sound editor and re-recording mixer includes being a three-time MPSE Golden Reel award winner, most recently in 2018 for “In Search of Fellini”.

MPSE’s 69th Annual Golden Reel Awards are scheduled for March 13.

‘King Richard’ wins 2021 People’s Choice Award at Miami Film Festival

“King Richard” was announced the winner of the 2021 Miami Gems People’s Choice Award at the Miami Film Festival with its centerpiece screening for the festival which took place November 4-10.

Starring Will Smith and directed by Reinaldo Marcus Green, “King Richard” chronicles the life of Richard Williams (Smith), the confident father and coach of tennis legends Serena and Venus Williams.

Festival audiences chose a pair of documentaries as finalists. Julie Cohen’s “Julia” was announced as the first runner-up and Jonas Poher Rasmussen’s “Flee:” was nominated for second place. All three films are major contenders for the awards.

The 39th Miami Dade College Miami Film Festival will be held March 4-13 next year. The festival will partner with Variety’s Streaming Room for an international roundtable of feature film nominees before final voting begins in March. 17.

2AM Adds Julia Oh as Producer

2AM, the full-service production and management company, announced the addition of Julia Oh as a producer.

Oh will join 2AM from Film4, where she previously served as senior commissioning executive in London. She will be based in New York with the 2AM production team alongside David Hinojosa and Zach Nutman.

While at Film4, Oh helmed a slate of feature films, including projects by Julia Ducournau, Steve McQueen, Michael Pearce, Will Sharpe, Sarah Gavron and Ben Sharrock, among others.

2AM’s large-scale film and television production division, overseen by Hinojosa, is in post-production on Halina Reijn’s English language debut, “Bodies, Bodies, Bodies,” starring Amandla Stenberg, Billy Porter’s directorial debut on “What If” and Celine Strong’s “Past Lives”.

2AM was founded by Christine D’Souza Gelb, Hinojosa and Kevin Rowe. The company was launched earlier this year by Gelb with backing from A24.

“The White Fortress”
Courtesy of TVCO

Gotham Film & Media Institute Announces Winning Filmmakers

The Gotham Film & Media Institute has announced the five winning filmmakers of the third annual Focus Features & JetBlue Student Short Film Showcase, who will be recognized at the 2021 Gotham Awards ceremony on November 29.

Winners include Evan Bode, Jorge G. Camarena, Akanksha Chawla, Jun Hee Han and J. Sean Smith, who will receive a $10,000 grant and have their films screened for a year on JetBlue’s seat entertainment systems in the “Gotham Selects” film category. and on Focus Features digital streaming platforms. Throughout 2022, winning filmmakers will also benefit from ongoing mentorship opportunities and workshops from The Gotham.

“The Short Film Showcase introduced us to an incredible array of talent, and we’re excited to be working with even more universities this year. As we run this program year after year, it is exciting to see the continued success of the young filmmakers we support – for example Kristi Hoi from UCLA, whose short film No Law, No Heaven was one winners of last year’s Showcase and a recent winner of a 2021 Student Academy Award,” said Jeffrey Sharp, Executive Director of the Gotham Film & Media Institute.

Game Theory Films Acquires US Rights to Igor Drljača’s ‘The White Fortress’

Game Theory Films has acquired the US distribution rights to Igor Drljača’s “The White Fortress”. The two form a relationship as she explores her life of foraging and petty crime as a way to escape her toxic home life.

“We are thrilled to bring this deeply moving film to audiences across the United States and Canada,” said Game Theory Director of Acquisitions and Distribution Hilary Hart.

“The White Fortress” had its world premiere at Berlin Intl. Film Festival as part of its Generation 14 plus section, and was recently announced as Bosnia and Herzegovina’s selection to represent them at the 94th Academy Awards.

Media Access Awards partners with Extra to stream virtually

The Media Access Awards have announced their media partnership with Extra, and for the first time, the annual ceremony will be broadcast virtually here and here Nov. 17 at 6 p.m.

The Media Access Awards honor film and television actors who include characters, actors and behind-the-camera talent with disabilities in their work. The awards ceremony will be hosted by Millicent Simmonds and will feature Lauren Ridloff, Jimmy Kimmel, Russell Crowe, Jim Parsons, Zac Efron, Meredith Scott Lynn and many more. This year’s winners are John Krasinski, Selma Blair, Keah Brown, Marlee Matlin, Troy Kotsur, Zeno Mountain Farm, Andrea Warren, Deborah Aquila, Lisa Zagoria, Tricia Wood, Ryan O’Connell and Jamie Nieto.

“The Media Access Awards have been hailed as the premier showcase for celebrating disability-centric stories and disabled artists in Hollywood for years. Thanks to Extra’s involvement, we can now reach a much wider national audience. We are thrilled,” said Deborah Calla and Allen Rucker, CEO of the Media Access Awards.

The ceremony will also include a performance by Rex & Friends, a group of autistic and blind musicians and singers led by Rex Lewis Clack. The show is a Calla Productions, executive produced by Calla and written by Rucker.


Comments are closed.