The Academy of Science and Technology Adds New Members – Film News in Brief


Academy Council of Science and Technology Adds New Members

The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences has named David Pierce, Andy Serkis and Jeffrey White to its 2021-2022 Science and Technology Council, bringing its roster to 25 people.

Pierce’s previous roles include working as Deputy Chief and Director of Operations at the National Audio-Visual Conservation Center at the Library of Congress – where he was responsible for acquisition, preservation, documentation and digitization public archives of cinema, television and radio. Pierce has been a member of the Academy since 2019.

Serkis is an award-winning actor with performances such as ‘The Lord of the Rings’ trilogy, ‘King Kong’, ‘Planet of the Apes’ trilogy, ‘Star Wars: The Force Awakens’ and will later appear in ‘The Batman “. He has been a member of the Actors Branch of the Academy since 2012.

White, who is currently a consulting executive producer at Drafthouse Films, worked in the feature production department at Warner Bros. and served as vice president of production and producer for Winkler/Daniel Productions at Paramount Pictures. He has been a member of the Academy’s Producer Branch since 1982.

The council co-chairs for 2021-22 are Visual Effects Branch Governor Craig Brown and Full Member Annie Chang.

Cinema Audio Society Announces Student Award Finalists

The Cinema Audio Studio announced five finalists for the 2021 Student Recognition Award at the 58th Annual Cinema Audio Society Awards, where the recipient will receive a check for $5,000.

Finalists include: Lily Adams, from Savannah College of Art and Design (SCAD); Bernice Chu, of Sheridan College Institute of Technology and Advanced Learning; Lindsay Ellise, of Chapman University; Shehryar Khan of Universidade Lusofona and Karthik Vijaymohan of Dodge College of Film and Media Arts at Chapman University.

In addition, director and producer Sir Ridley Scott will receive the Cinema Audio Society’s Filmmaker Award, as well as re-recording sound mixer Paul Massey, who will receive the CAS Career Achievement Award.

The event will return live on March 19 at the Wilshire Grand Ballroom at the InterContinental Los Angeles Downtown.

Sinking Ship teams up with Paper Owl Films for “Finding Audrey”

Sinking Ship Entertainment has announced its partnership with Paper Owl Films for the film adaptation of Sophie Kinsella’s novel, “Finding Audrey.”

In Kinsella’s novel, “Finding Audrey” follows the life of a teenage girl with social anxiety disorder after a bullying-initiating incident at school. Now envisioned as a family film, the new adaptation will tell the story of Audrey’s recovery, with the help of her family and a boy named Linus.

Kinsella spoke about the adaptation, saying, “I’m thrilled to have worked with Paper Owl Films on this exciting and imaginative adaptation of ‘Finding Audrey.’ I can’t wait for fans of my book to see the characters come to life on screen, and also for a wider audience to meet Audrey and her family.

“Finding Audrey” is produced by Paper Owl Films and will be distributed internationally by Sinking Ship Entertainment.

NewFilmmakers Los Angeles awards five Anthony Rhulen Fellowships to InFocus Filmmakers 2021

NewFilmmakers Los Angeles (NFMLA) has awarded a total of $7,500 in grants to five 2021 InFocus filmmakers.
In addition to receiving funding, each of the winners had their projects screened at various NFMLA InFocus festivals.

The filmmakers awarded with funding are Andrew Chung, Karina Dandashi, Merced Elizondo, Lorena Gordon and Dewun Owusu.

As part of the NFMLA Film Festival lineup, the filmmakers met with various entertainment industry executives and creatives such as Trevor Rotenberg at 3 Arts Entertainment, Kyle Chalmers at Blumhouse Television, Giselle Johnson at Sony Screen Gems, Jiwon Park at ABC Signature, Sandino Moya -Smith at MGM Studios, Alexander Zahn at Netflix, Yira Vilaro at Amazon Studios and Ozi Menakaya at Creative Artists Agency.

The awarded funds are a continuation of donations that are part of a larger, year-round endowment established at the NFMLA by the Rhulen family to celebrate the life and career of the late film producer Anthony Rhulen. These artist investments aim to support, nurture and champion independent and diverse emerging voices and help create new documentary and storytelling projects.


Comments are closed.